Cowboys QB Prescott wins NFL’s Walter Payton Man of the Year

Cowboys QB Prescott wins NFL's Walter Payton Man of the Year

PHOENIX (AP) — Dallas Cowboys quarterback Dak Prescott gained the NFL’s Walter Payton Man of the 12 months award on Thursday evening.

The 2-time Professional Bowl choice is the fourth Cowboys participant to win the award, becoming a member of Roger Staubach, Troy Aikman and former teammate Jason Witten.

The award — the recipient of which is picked from 32 nominees, one on every crew — is given to an NFL participant for his off-the-field neighborhood service actions, in addition to on-the-field success.

The Haughton, Louisiana, native misplaced his mom, Peggy, in 2013 to most cancers when he was a quarterback at Mississippi State. His brother, Jace, died of suicide in 2020.

The quarterback stated there was little doubt the place this award ranks among the many many honours he’s acquired in his profession.

“That’s simple — it’s primary,” Prescott stated. “When your mother will get identified with Stage 4 most cancers, she’s given months to reside, she’s supplying you with that information, and he or she tells you, ‘Hey, all greats have a narrative. Enable me to be your story.’

“That’s what this award means to me.”

Prescott’s Religion Battle End basis has raised funds for a number of causes, together with colon most cancers analysis. The quarterback has additionally been very open about suicide prevention and psychological well being. For successful the award, Prescott’s basis receives $255,000. The opposite 31 finalists obtain $55,000 for the charity of their alternative.

“I’ve at all times been obsessive about the sport of soccer since I used to be a little bit child,” Prescott stated. “When she used to launched me, she’d say ‘That is my Heisman winner.’

“Clearly, I didn’t win that. However I feel with the ability to commerce that for the Walter Payton Man of the 12 months award, my mother would have been so proud.”

The award is known as after late working again and Professional Soccer Corridor of Famer Walter Payton. Los Angeles Rams offensive lineman Andrew Whitworth was final yr’s winner.

Source link

Be the first to read breaking news on Today’s latest news, and live news updates, read the most reliable English news website