WPL 2023: Gujarat game may not happen with RCB, know why Delhi Capitals have the upper hand

Mumbai: The team of Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB) will take on the field against Delhi Capitals in the Women’s Premier League (WPL) match on Sunday. In front of the restrained batting of RCB captain Smriti Mandhana, the challenge of aggressive batsman Shefali Verma will be. RCB have included quality international players in their squad which includes Ellyse Perry, Heather Knight and Sophie Devine. They also have an excellent captain in Mandhana who is the league’s highest selling player for Rs 3.40 crore. The team has Richa Ghosh which makes the team look strong. But if Indian talent is to be seen, on paper, multiple-time World Cup-winning great Australian player Meg Lanning’s Delhi Capitals have a slight edge over their rivals.

Jess Jonassen, Marijane Kapp and Ellyse Capse are likely to be the four overseas players along with Lanning but Delhi’s Indian line-up is strong as well as dangerous. Shefali, Jemima Rodrigues, Shikha Pandey, Poonam Yadav, Arundhati Reddy, Tania Bhatia, Radha Yadav are all experienced players from India. Under-19 World Cup-winning fast bowler Titas Sadhu, Kashmir’s Jasia Akhtar and wicketkeeper Aparna Mandal are in the squad. Delhi Capitals have picked the best potential Indian talent.

Lanning said in a Delhi Capitals release, ‘I have had a conversation with some of the players and I am trying to get to their strong side, how they would like to play and what they think. Hopefully, I can learn something from these girls and give them a bit of knowledge as well.” For Mandhana, four overseas players are easy to pick which are Kapp, Knight, Perry and fast bowler Megan Schutt. But his problem will be to fix the places of at least four Indian players. Of these, three should be automatic choices, including the captain himself, Richa and fast bowler Renuka Thakur.

The teams are as follows:
Delhi Capitals: Meg Lanning (c), Shafali Verma, Jemimah Rodrigues, Jess Jonassen, Ellyse Capse, Tara Norris, Laura Harris, Marijane Kapp, Poonam Yadav, Shikha Pandey, Tania Bhatia (wk), Aparna Mandal (wk), Titas Sadhu, Arundhati Reddy , Radha Yadav, Meenu Mani, Jasia Akhtar.

RCB: Smriti Mandhana (c), Richa Ghosh (wk), Dane van Niekerk, Heather Knight, Ellyse Perry, Megan Schutt, Sophie Devine, Erin Burns, Disha Kasat, Sahana Pawar, Renuka Thakur, Komal Janjad, Poonam Khemnar, Kanika Ahuja, Preeti Bose, Shobhana Asha, Shreyanka Patil and Indrani Roy (wicketkeeper).

The match will start at 7:30 pm Indian time.

New controversy arose even before the start of WPL 2023, demand arose to make Indian players captainNavbharat TimesJasia Akhtar: Terrorists entered the house and beat her, yet did not give up… Now WPL daughter of Kashmir will hit sixesNavbharat TimesWomens T20 WC: MS Dhoni-Ricky Ponting’s cool record shattered, World Cup winning machine Meg Lanning created history

Be the first to read breaking news on OopsTop.com. Today’s latest news, and live news updates, read the most reliable English news website Oopstop.com

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: