US imposes sanctions on six Russians

The United States imposed sanctions on six Russian citizens working in the Russian justice system, including a deputy minister, in connection with the case of publicist Vladimir Kara-Murza* (recognized as a foreign agent). This was announced on Friday by the press service of the US Treasury.

According to the information she provided, the Deputy Minister of Justice was blacklisted Oleg SviridenkoJudge of the Basmanny Court Elena LenskayaJudge of the Khamovnichesky District Court Diana MishchenkoJudge of the Moscow City Court Ilya Kozlovinvestigator for especially important cases of the UK Andrey Zadachin and Director of the ANO “Center for the Promotion of Humanitarian Expertise “Independent Expert”” Danila Mikheev.

As stated in a written statement by the US Secretary of State Anthony Blinken, the current restrictions are introduced in connection with the “arbitrary detention” of Kara-Murza. In practice, these restrictive measures mean a ban on the issuance of US entry visas and blocking property under US jurisdiction.

According to Blinken and the US Treasury in statements, the sanctions are based on the provisions of the US Magnitsky Act, which, according to Washington, is aimed at protecting human rights in other countries. Their introduction was announced at the end of January by the US Deputy Secretary of State for Political Affairs Victoria Nuland.

In early February, the Basmanny Court of Moscow extended the arrest of Kara-Murze in the case of treason and the publication of fakes about the army. Kara-Murza does not admit guilt on any of the charges. On April 11, 2022, employees of the Ministry of Internal Affairs detained a publicist in Moscow.

According to Blinken’s information, Washington is calling on Moscow for the “immediate and unconditional release” of Kara-Murza.

*An individual acting as a foreign agent

Be the first to read breaking news on Today’s latest news, and live news updates, read the most reliable English news website

Leave a Reply