The Russian Foreign Ministry imposed sanctions against 144 citizens of Latvia, Lithuania and Estonia

March 09, 2023, 20:03

The Russian Foreign Ministry imposed personal sanctions against ministers, deputies and journalists of the Baltic States

Read 360tv in

The Russian Foreign Ministry announced the imposition of sanctions against 144 citizens of Latvia, Lithuania and Estonia. The list includes the “most hostile” to Russia ministers, parliamentarians, public figures and journalists. The statement was published on agency website.

“This step was taken as a response to the active lobbying by the Baltic states of sanctions and other measures against Russia, interference in our internal affairs, inciting Russophobic sentiments,” the document says.

It is also noted that blacklisted individuals are involved in campaigns to demolish Soviet monuments, glorify Nazism and hostility towards the Russian-speaking population.

The department added that the citizens of the Baltic states who were on the “stop list” are related to the escalation of the conflict between Russia and Ukraine.

At the same time, the list of persons in the department was not published.

Earlier it was reported that the inscription “station” in Russian was removed from the building of the railway station in Riga. Prior to this, the word was presented in Latvian, Russian and English. Local officials called this action a significant and symbolic moment.


Be the first to read breaking news on Today’s latest news, and live news updates, read the most reliable English news website

Leave a Comment

%d bloggers like this: