The Ministry of Culture excluded well-known directors and top managers from expert councils for state support of cinema

Russian Minister of Culture Olga Lyubimova on May 26 signed an order that changed the expert composition of councils for the selection of films applying for state funding. On order newspaper drew attention Vedomosti May 31.

Directors Aleksey Uchitel, Aleksey Agranovich, producers Pyotr Anurov, Anton Zlatopolsky, screenwriters Lyubov Mulmenko, Roman Kantor, general director of Channel One Konstantin Ernst, general director of Central Partnership Vadim Vereshchagin, chairman of the board of directors of Soyuzmultfilm Juliana Slashchev.

At the same time, the councils included State Duma deputy, actor Dmitry Pevtsov, producer and director Alexei Pimanov, director Alla Surikova, archpriest, rector of the church of St. Nicholas of Myra on the Three Mountains Dmitry Roshchin, priest, vice-rector of the Orthodox St. Tikhon Humanitarian University Philip Ilyashenko.

According to the Vedomosti newspaper, the composition of council members, in general, has decreased. The publication calculated that the most numerous council for the selection of feature debut, author’s, experimental and socially significant national films decreased by 2.7 times – to 23 experts.

The last time the Ministry of Culture updated the expert councils was in 2021. This year, it is planned to allocate more than 11.5 billion rubles for state support of films selected by the ministry.

Anastasia Larina


Be the first to read breaking news on Today’s latest news, and live news updates, read the most reliable English news website

Leave a Reply