The foreign ministers of the Group of Seven countries intend to reduce energy dependence on Russia, as stated in a joint statement of the association.

Germany, Italy, Great Britain, Canada, France, Japan and the United States are going to significantly intensify their efforts to achieve energy independence from the Russian Federation.

The heads of the diplomatic departments of the G7 made the relevant statement after a three-day meeting in northern Germany.

“We will intensify our efforts to reduce and end dependence on Russian energy supplies – and as quickly as possible, building on G7 commitments to phase out or ban imports of Russian coal and oil. We will accelerate the transition to alternative energy sources and improve energy efficiency in the context of an accelerated reduction of our dependence on Russian energy carriers in accordance with our climate goals and energy security requirements,” the G7 foreign ministers stressed.

In addition, diplomats are lobbying to increase the amount of investment in projects for the use of liquefied natural gas, as well as alternative energy sources.

EU High Representative for Foreign Affairs and Security Policy Josep Borrell admitted earlier that EU ambassadors could not agree on the terms of the sixth package of anti-Russian sanctions.



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here