Team India last won a major ICC tournament in the year 2013 in the form of Champions Trophy. At that time the command of the Indian team was in the hands of Mahendra Singh Dhoni. India has lost the ICC trophy for the third time in a row under Kohli’s captaincy.


  • India’s second innings was bundled out for 170 runs
  • New Zealand beat Team India by 8 wickets in WTC final
  • Kyle Jamieson, who took 7 wickets in the match, became the player of the match

New Delhi
New Zealand defeated India to win the ICC World Test Championship title. In the WTC final played at the Rose Bowl ground in Southampton, the Kiwis defeated Kohli & Co by 8 wickets.

With this defeat, India’s wait to win the ICC Trophy, which has been going on for the last 8 years, got longer. Team India will now be eyeing to end this drought by winning the upcoming T20 World Cup.

The second innings of the Indian team was bundled out for 170 runs on Reserve Day. Kyle Jamieson dealt a big blow to India by dismissing captain Virat Kohli and Cheteshwar Pujara in the first hour of the day’s play. Wicketkeeper Rishabh Pant contributed 41 runs.

All-round applause for the Kiwi team who won the World Test Championship final, know who said what

Chasing the target of 139 runs, the Kiwis won easily on the basis of an unbeaten 52 from captain Kane Williamson and 47 not out from Ross Taylor.

India last won the ICC Champions Trophy in the year 2013. Under the captaincy of Mahendra Singh Dhoni, the Indian team achieved this feat by defeating the hosts in England. After the loss against New Zealand, fans clashed on social media over the captaincy of Virat Kohli vs Mahendra Singh Dhoni (MS Dhoni) on social media.

Team India lost in these 3 big tournaments under the captaincy of Virat
Under Kohli’s captaincy, Team India lost to Pakistan for the first time in the final of the Champions Trophy in 2017. After this, New Zealand defeated India in the semi-finals in the 2019 World Cup.

Won 3 out of 4 finals under Dhoni’s captaincy
India has so far reached the finals of a total of 10 major ICC tournaments. Under Dhoni’s captaincy, Team India has won 3 out of 4 finals, while under the leadership of other captains, India has won only one out of 6 finals.

Dhoni and Virat



Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here