Latvia bans 102 Russian cultural figures from entering


The Ministry of Foreign Affairs of Latvia has blacklisted 102 Russian cultural figures, banning them from entering the country for an indefinite period.

It is reported by Ukrinform with reference to press service MFA.

“Minister of Foreign Affairs Edgars Rinkevics has decided to add another 102 citizens of the Russian Federation to the list of undesirable persons for the Republic of Latvia in accordance with the second part of Article 61 of the Immigration Law. Latvia restricts the entry of Kremlin supporters into Latvia and will continue to do so,” the statement said.

It clarifies that the people on the stop list are predominantly Russian cultural figures who have expressed active support for the decision of the Russian president to invade Ukraine and unequivocally justify Russian aggression, accompanied by the brutal actions of Russian troops.

Read also: Estonia banned singers Kirkorov and Gagarina from entering for 5 years

“Support for the atrocities committed by the Kremlin regime means co-responsibility for the crimes committed, therefore the entry of such persons into Latvia is not allowed,” the Foreign Ministry said in a statement.

In particular, the “black list” includes actor and director Nikolai Burlyaev, film directors Yuri Kara and Nikolai Lebedev; actors Vladimir Gostyukhin, Vasily Livanov, Alexander Mikhailov, Viktor Rakov, Alexander Pankratov-Cherny, Igor Petrenko; writer Stanislav Kunyaev.

Read also: Ukraine insists on canceling screenings of Russian films in Cannes

On February 24, Russia launched a new phase of the eight-year war against Ukraine – a full-scale offensive. The enemy is carrying out massive shelling and bombardment of peaceful Ukrainian cities and villages.

After the outbreak of the war, Russia was subjected to large-scale sanctions by the world community.


Please enter your comment!
Please enter your name here