Estonia will propose to the European Commission to ban the issuance of visas to Russians in the eighth package of sanctions

Cabinet of Ministers of Estonia will offer The European Commission to introduce the eighth package of sanctions against Russia, which should include restrictions on the economy, energy and trade. It is also proposed to expand sanctions against individuals and legal entities. In addition, Estonia proposes in a new package of sanctions to ban Russians from entering the EU countries.

“As foreign minister, I also call on the governments of other European countries to introduce additional domestic sanctions to stop the travel of citizens of the aggressor country Russia to Europe, and work together to close the Schengen visa zone for Russian citizens,” Foreign Minister Urmas Reinsalu said.

Mr. Reinsalu believes that the EU countries should follow the example of Estonia with regard to visa and territorial restrictions on Russians. Recall that the EU ministers in Prague on August 31 planned to work out the issue of issuing visas to citizens of the Russian Federation.

Earlier, Estonia closed the country for entry and canceled the issuance of visas to Russian citizens. Lithuania, Latvia, the Czech Republic also stopped issuing visas to Russians, as well as short-term visas – Denmark and the Netherlands. Finland is going to halve the number of applications for Schengen visas.

Read more about visa restrictions in the publication “Kommersant” “Neither enter nor enter the Baltic states.”

Polina Sobakina


Be the first to read breaking news on Today’s latest news, and live news updates, read the most reliable English news website

Leave a Comment