Press "Enter" to skip to content

BJP got donation of 750 crores, five times more than Congress, know who gave how much

The Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) is in power at the Center since 2014. During this time the party topped in terms of receiving corporate and individual donations. In its report submitted to the Election Commission (EC), the party has said that in the year 2019-20, the party has received donations of around Rs 750 crore from companies and individuals. This is at least five times more than what the Congress party got (Rs 139 crore). In the same period, NCP got Rs 59 crore, TMC got Rs 8 crore, CPM got Rs 19.6 crore and CPI got Rs 1.9 crore.

According to a report in The Indian Express, MP Rajeev Chandrasekhar’s Jupiter Capital, ITC Group, real estate companies Macrotech Developers (earlier known as Lodha Developers) and BG Shirke Construction Technology, Prudent Electoral Trust are among those who donated to the BJP. and the Jan Kalyan Electoral Trust is the head.

BJP has received Rs 217.75 crore from Prudent Electoral Trust. Apart from this, donations of 45.95 crores have been received from Jankalyan Electoral Trust, 15 crores from Jupiter Capital, 76 crores from ITC, 21 crores from Lodha Developers, 20 crores from Gulmarg Developers.

Electoral Trust is a Section 25 company that receives voluntary donations mainly from corporate houses and distributes them to political parties. It keeps the names of donors secret while making political contributions. The major donors to Prudent Electoral Trust are Bharti Enterprises, GMR Airport Developers and DLF Ltd. Jankalyan Electoral Trust receives funds from JSW Group companies.

The BJP had also received a huge donation of Rs 20 crore from Gulmarg Realtors, a real estate company linked to builder Sudhakar Shetty, in October 2019. The Enforcement Directorate had raided Shetty’s residence and office in January 2020.

BJP’s donors included at least 14 educational institutions. These include Mewar University, Delhi (Rs 2 crore), Krishna Institute of Engineering (Rs 10 lakh), GD Goenka International School, Surat (Rs 2.5 lakh), Pathania Public School, Rohtak (Rs 2.5 lakh), Little Hearts Convent School, Bhiwani. (Rs 21,000), and Allen Career, Kota (Rs 25 lakh).

Many BJP members, MPs and MLAs are also among the donors of the party. Haryana Chief Minister Manohar Lal Khattar contributed Rs 5 lakh, Rajya Sabha MP Rajeev Chandrasekhar Rs 2 crore, Arunachal Pradesh Chief Minister Pema Khandu Rs 1.1 crore, Kirron Kher contributed Rs 6.8 lakh. TV Mohandas Pai, president of Manipal Global Education, donated Rs 15 lakh to BJP.


Be First to Comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *